The Boltzmann Award was instituted by the Commission on Statistical Physics (C3) of the IUPAP to honor outstanding achievements in Statistical Physics. It is presented by the Commission at the STATPHYS meeting. The award consists of a glided medal (the Boltzmann Medal) with the inscription of Ludwig Boltzmann.

Announcement of Boltzmann Medals 2022

On behalf of the C3 Commission of the IUPAP,
it is our great pleasure to inform you that
Deepak Dhar and John J. Hopfield
have been chosen as the awardees of the Boltzmann Medals 2022.
Deepak Dhar

For his seminal contributions to several areas of statistical physics, including exact solutions of self-organized criticality models, interfacial growth, universal long-time relaxation in disordered magnetic systems, exact solutions in percolation and cluster counting problems and definition of the spectral dimension of fractals.

John J. Hopfield

For extending the boundaries of statistical physics to encompass the phenomena of life, from kinetic proofreading in the transmission of information at the molecular level to the dynamics of neural networks creating a new language for thinking about computation in the brain.

The Boltzmann Awards of the C3 Commission on Statistical Physics of the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics (IUPAP) will be presented at Statphys28, to be held in Tokyo (Japan), 7th to 11th August 2023.

The award honours outstanding achievements in Statistical Physics. The recipient should be a scientist who has not received the Boltzmann Medal or the Nobel Prize before.

Previous winners of the Boltzmann Medal

1975K.G. Wilson
1977R. Kubo
1980R.J. Baxter
1983M.E. Fisher
1986D. Ruelle and Y. Sinai
1989L.P. Kadanoff
1992J.Lebowitz and G.Parisi
1995S.F. Edwards
1998E. Lieb and B. Widom
2001Berni J. Alder and Kyozi Kawasaki
2004E. G. D. Cohen and H. E. Stanley
2007Kurt Binder and Giovanni Gallavotti
2010John Cardy and Bernard Derrida
2013Giovanni Jona-Lasinio and Harry L. Swinney
2016Daan Frenkel and Yves Pomeau
2019Herbert Spohn